Being a Student

On top of everything else I have going on in my life, I decided to go back to school.  laugh Crazy, I know.

Here’s the twist. In typical Esperanza fashion, I did not choose a school in America, or even one that teaches in English.  Instead, I found a school in Saint Petersburg Russian that teaches ecclesiastical embroidery using methods that date back 1,000 years.

I’m in my 6th week of classes. These are 6 Russian weeks, which seem to last anywhere from 4 to 15 days.  So far, I love it!  The work is challenging, especially since I do not read or speak Russian, at least not yet.  I’m using the Rosetta Stone software to learn Russian, but I just started.

Even if I were fluent in Russian, sewing terms do not translate!  For example, the name of the twisted gold cord we use for the first few classes translates literally into “waste of time.”

josiesewell-1-5-%d0%be%d1%82%d1%87%d0%b5%d1%82%d1%8b-2

My first application of the first “waste of time” I ever made.  (I did get better after this 😉 )

So far, my favorite assignment has been a 3 dimensional flower.

josiesewell-3-%d0%be%d1%82%d1%87%d0%b5%d1%82%d1%8b-2

I told you that I got better!

As you can see, between the week one assignment (making and attaching the “waste of time”) and the week 3 assignment (the 3D flower) there was a heck of a-lot of learning.

Setting aside the excitement of learning new things, what excites me the most is being able to share this experience with my fellow English speakers. As far as I can tell, I’m the first non-Russian (or non-Ukrainian, non-Slovakian, etc) to be in this school.  Thankfully there is another student in my class of 14 students who lives in American, although she is Russian born.

I feel honored to be a student. They only open up their online course roughly once a year and each class has around 12 students.  To be part of this . . . I have no words to describe how blown away I am.

As I muddle along in my learning, I’ll keep you posted!

Esperanza de Navarra

Leave a Reply

