Frustrating Rus Embroidery

I’m having a bitch of a time finding details on Rus embroidery that is not gold-work or silver-work.  There’s a plethora of articles on metal embroidery, but even when talking about the complimentary stitches alongside the metal-work, it’s simply called “other embroidery.”

After searching in Russian, English and Ukrainian, I finally found a few paltry articles on the subject. I guess compared to working with precious metal, working with ordinary thread is “boring.”

More to come as I uncover and analyze what I find.  Too many research papers, not enough time to write them . . .

2 thoughts on “Frustrating Rus Embroidery

  1. Pancua says:

    I am so glad I am not the only one! Gold work or laying pearls, that’s all I can find as well!

    • It’s been frustrating. The only good thing about the info I’ve found on Rus embroidery is that, although I’ve found little variation in stitches, the limits that they use these stitches is phenomenal. They make some amazing stuff with very few techniques!

Leave a Reply

