Gulf Wars!!!

Less than a week until Gulf Wars starts. I don’t know whether to be excited or nervous. It’s been 3 years since I’ve been to a GW.  For the first time I am not manically sewing garb for myself and the family, but I can’t figure out if that’s because I have enough or I just don’t want to sew.

I have enough to cover the days that I will be there, and I think all of the kids do as well. I may be sewing an emergency tunic later this week, mostly for M., who has grown out of all of her younger garb and does not yet fit into mine.

Lately, I’m still working on  my blackwork sewing case. Ironically enough I lost the jar of needles I had to go into the case.

I finished my documentation for a 4 panel cotehardie. I still have to write it up, but all of the research is done.  It feels pretty solid.  I had to go back through my files to weed out my notes on any of the Greenland gowns as documentation. But between Queen Margarita’s golden gown, pictures from manuscripts and brass effigies, I think it’s good.

I’m helping hubby learn to sew – by machine, not hand. He’s made 2 under-tunics so far and we’ll work on a gambeson later this week. I’m tickled that he will at least know how to make some of the basic stuff.

Other than sorting through which SCA files I lost and didn’t lose, that’s been it.

Hope to see everyone at Gulf Wars.

Leave a Reply

