Needle Case – 6th Time’s a Charm

Started working on my needle case. To give myself more practice with working this blackwork fill-in pattern,  my needle case cover will be made up entirely of the pattern. To add an extra degree of difficulty (as if that was necessary), I’m using linen that isn’t an even count weave. The first six repeats of the pattern are all flawed. Some more than others. Mostly because I miscounted a thread or didn’t see a thread. But the 6th one, that is perfect – or at least as perfect as an uneven weave will allow.

My perfect repeat is on the bottom right. It’s so pretty!!!

Being so happy about finally stitching the perfect repeat, I tried another repeat from this same fill-in patter. It came out flawless too. I am possibly catching on!!

My perfect little dude and its mate. (Yes, I’m personifying my embroidery. It gets me through a-lot of stitches.)

There was a point in time when I thought, “Blackwork looks easy enough. It’s just black thread on white fabric” and “Counted stitch embroidery is a joke! I mean, how difficult is it to count threads.”  As it turns out, it’s pretty damn difficult. I have a whole new appreciation for you cross-stitchers! And I have certainly said a few choice words to the past me that had such thoughts.

3 thoughts on “Needle Case – 6th Time’s a Charm

  1. Julie says:

    I’m curious…how are you defining “perfect” and “flawless”? Are you taking into account that the fabric weave is not perfect? There may be slubs in some of the fibers. One thread may have been spun a bit more skimpily than the one next to it.

    And don’t forget the quilters’ saying about putting a mistake in their work as only the Creator (whoever he or she is for you) does perfect! And I’m not so sure about that either!

    Your work looks great!

    • No the weave isn’t flawless by any stretch. But I’m what I’m aiming for is having the stitches all line up. When I finish one section of repeats, I don’t have to fudge or stretch or move things over a thread to get the patterns in sync. Not the look so much as learning to make the patterns on real cloth, as opposed to conventional embroidery cloth. Does that make sense? It’s hard to explain, but the flaws in the cloth don’t bother me as much as realizing I went 3 threads over in a place where I was supposed to only go 2.

      • Julie says:

        yup! perfect sense to me. i do the same thing, plus try to make my backs as neat as I can with no threads carried more than an inch and not at all in reversible work.

Leave a Reply

